“Little” issues

I’ve been spending time lately thinking about who I want to see in the clinic. The majority of patients I see are in the age range of “the change,” AKA Menopause. Many of them may be seeing problems for the first time since their hormone levels are changing, but I find that a lot of them– when they really start sharing their story–they have been dealing with issues since their babies were born. Their babies who are now in college. Or have babies of their own! So what gives? Why are women wearing pantiliners or avoiding jogging because they might leak? Why do they put up with running to the bathroom at every whim of their bladder for years? How did these “little” issues fall through the cracks? And why do I keep hearing “I didn’t know there was anything I could do”?

I LOVE these patients. I love being a positive part of “the change.” But what if we got to women before they are having issues? What if women saw a physical therapist before they have a baby, or as a standard right after giving birth, regardless of the presence of symptoms? These are the ladies I want to get to. In France women are given a round of PT just for having a baby! Let’s move in that direction! What if women found solutions long before “the change,” so that they aren’t in the clinic during it?

So I’m on a mission. To get to these women. I’m getting out into the community. I’m squeezing my way into yoga studios and CrossFit classes (oh CrossFit deserves a post of it’s own, but there are already some out there here and here) and maybe even a book club or two (I made my book club read Bonk by Mary Roach–that gets the conversation flowing!). Wanna listen? Stay tuned. I’ll be around.